Jessica Gottlieb Can Dish It Out, But She Can’t Take It

DAHLINGS –

My idle reference to bitch-slapping Jessica Gottlieb has gotten the “Mommy Blogger” (whatever that is) into quite a stew! The reference was due to her recent blogpost, “Fat Acceptance Is Bullshit.” Need I say more? (I refrain from such vulgar language–it is a barrier to intelligent discourse. Of course “bitch-slapping” is rather declasse’, but I was fatigued.)

It’s worth it to go on Twitter to see her foaming at the mouth over little old moi. I’m quite flattered, really. Ms. Gottlieb not only called me a variety of names, she even posted a link to my last blog post so that people could bear witness to what “the troll” wrote about her. Even if it was only a passing reference in my blog post devoted to PETA. Apparently, she’s that important.

In her post, Ms. Gottlieb wrote:

I’m tired of hearing people equating obesity with race, hence the discrimination.
I can’t carry my 7 year old on my back all day long and still have a good quality day. He’s 50 pounds or so. Many of you “fat acceptance” bloggers have lots more than 50 pounds on you. Stop pretending it’s okay. You are dying and some of you are killing your kids. That has me irate.
It’s got to suck to be morbidly obese. I can’t imagine laboring to get out of bed, oh, wait I can, you see I was HUGE when I was pregnant. It’s not a way to live your life.

…fat acceptance is kinda like cancer acceptance. You’re killing yourself and you sound like an asshole when you talk about it.

from: “Fat Acceptance Is Bullshit” at http://jessicagottlieb.com**

And then she’s surprised when a plus-sized person takes offense?? Methinks she doth protest too much. In a previous post she admitted she’s not a size 4, that she’s a curvy woman with some “goo,” whatever that means. For “goo,” read “serious body issues.”

It’s ridiculous to have to write this, but here we go: I believe in limiting the consumption of fat and sugar for children. I do not eat fast food. I do not believe in gastric bypasses for teenagers, any more than I believe in breast implants for those too young to vote. However, like any normal person, I take great pleasure in eating delicious well-prepared healthy food (and the occasionally unhealthy food). And I love my body. It’s strong, it works well, and it certainly has an excellent capacity for sexual enjoyment.

Ms. Gottlieb has indicated on her blog that I am a coward and a bully, and that until I apologize, she has nothing but contempt for me. Since she already has contempt for my body, she might as well have contempt for my point of view. Personally, I’m flattered my opinion means so much to her.

Ciao,
Elisa & Bucky The Wonderdog

** Edited to Add: Ms. Gottlieb tweeted that I cut and pasted without attribution. I’m beginning to believe this woman has a serious problem. Doesn’t she have better things to do with her time, like, say, making sport of blind people?

Leave a comment